Author Topic: Landing in the 15% federal income tax bracket - what to do? (Read 1271 times)

bb11

• Bristles
Landing in the 15% federal income tax bracket - what to do?
« on: November 07, 2017, 05:04:46 AM »
I'm a grad student landing in the 15% tax bracket for what I suspect will be the last time for a while in 2017. This year I'll only make ~$33,000. I've already signed an offer for once I graduate in May 2018 for ~$150k, and even given that 2018 will only have 7 months of income I should make over $100k. So I'm wondering the best way to maximize my benefits of being in a low bracket this year.

To date I'm maxed out my Roth IRA and put away what I can in a ROTH 457 (not too much). It's my understanding that the standard deduction and exemption should take my gross income down to $23k? And I believe my cap gains tax is 0% as long as I don't eclipse $37k in income (to get into the 25% bracket). Should I:

- Sell my invesments temporarily to step up their basis with no tax owed? (Does this count towards the $37k limit?)
- Convert Traditional IRA money into Roth money? (All the way up to the $37k limit?)
- Something else?
-
Journaling my journey to FI in NYC: /journals/bb11-wants-to-explore-the-world/

Asalbeag

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Landing in the 15% federal income tax bracket - what to do?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2017, 05:24:41 AM »
Yes you can tax gain harvest, there are no wash sale rules for this, the only cost will be the transaction fees. Try to avoid taking capital losses this year as they won't help at all as they will just go against your capital gains which will be at 0% anyway.

EDIT: one other thing to look at would be the tax credits available at the lower income, check when they begin to phase out (Savers Credit, EITC etc). I suggest filling out a few alternate versions of your 1040 now while you have time to make changes if needed.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2017, 05:30:41 AM by Asalbeag »

terran

• Pencil Stache